South Kerry Final Win Saturday 3rd December

South Kerry Final played in good conditions on Saturday 3rd December 2016.  Great win for the club with a final score of St. Marys 1 – 15, Skellig Rangers 1 – 6.

Saint Marys Team. Austin Constable, Darragh O’Sullivan, Brian Curran, Ian Casey, Daniel O’Sullivan, Conor O’Shea, Niall O’Driscoll, Denis Daly, Bryan Sheehan, Aidan Walsh, Daniel Daly, Paulie O’Donoghue, Anthony Cournane, Sean Cournane, Conor Quirke. Subs. Adam Quirke for Conor Quirke (b/c)

Scorers Bryan Sheehan (0-4, 3 frees) Sean Cournane (0-4 frees), Daniel Daly (0-3), Anthony Cournane (1-0), Aidan Walsh (0-2), Denis Daly and Paulie O’Donoghue (0-1 each).

Man of the Match Denis Daly.  Great win and huge thanks for Maurice Fitzgerald and his management team on the perfect finish to the footballing year and wishing Maurice best of luck in his new role with Kerry.  Also special mention to Austin Constable collecting his tenth South Kerry medal and also to Bryan Sheehan, Dan O’Sullivan and Niall O’Driscoll who each collected their ninth medals.

Full account of the match from Irish Examiner here

Also on the day the 1991 winning Saint Marys team were honoured on the 25th anniversary of their South Kerry Win, see photos of the team below and the team as it lined out on the day back in 1991.

Also this years final was a bit more special when the 1916 anniversary was commemorated at half time.  Our field is named after Con Keating who was one of the first casualties of the rising.  It was fitting the mark the anniversary at this years final.  See some photos of the ceremony below.

St Marys 1991 Team

St Marys 1991 Team

St. Marys 1991 Team Honoured on 25th Anniversary

St. Marys 1991 Team Honoured on 25th Anniversary


Nuala McDaid reading the proclamation along with the Killorglin Pipe Band


Raising the flag by Con Keatings Nephew


Jack Murphy Cup presented to St Marys Captain Aidan Walsh


Recent Posts